The Radiation Therapy Oncology Group (RTOG) is a national clinical cooperative group funded by the National Cancer Institute (NCI) since 1968 to increase the survival and improve the quality of life of patients diagnosed with cancer. The primary areas of research for RTOG investigators are: brain tumors, head and neck cancer, lung cancer, cancers of the gastrointestinal system (esophagus, pancreas, rectum, anal canal and stomach), genitourinary tract cancers (bladder and prostate), sarcomas, gynecologic cancer (cervix) and breast cancer. The Group consists of both clinical and laboratory investigators from over 360 institutions across the United States and Canada and includes in its membership nearly 90% of all NCI-designated comprehensive and clinical cancer centers. The Group Headquarters and Statistical Unit are located in the Philadelphia offices of the American College of Radiology. The Group Chair is Walter J. Curran, Jr., M.D. the Executive Director of the Winship Cancer Institute of Emory University.

RTOG Informational Brochure